Seven Sins – Seven Virtues

Seven must be your lucky number

Seven must be your lucky number

This was just too fabulous not to steal from

Back to our regularly scheduled sevens.

seven sins

Seven signposts

The seven deadly sins, also known as the capital vices or cardinal sins, is a classification of vices (part ofChristian ethics) that has been used since early Christian times to educate and instruct Christians concerning fallen humanity’s tendency to sin. In the currently recognized version, the sins are usually given as wrathgreedsloth,pridelustenvy, and gluttony.

The Catholic Church divides sin into two categories: venial sins, in which guilt is relatively minor, and the more severe mortal sins. Theologically, a mortal or deadly sin is believed to destroy the life of grace and charity within a person and thus creates the threat of eternal damnation. “Mortal sin, by attacking the vital principle within us – that is, charity – necessitates a new initiative of God’s mercy and a conversion of heart which is normally accomplished [for Catholics] within the setting of the sacrament of reconciliation.”

Seven deadly sins in the heart

Seven deadly sins in the heart

According to Catholic moral thought, the seven deadly sins are not discrete from other sins, but are instead the origin (“capital” comes from the Latin caput, head) of the others. “Deadly sins” can be either venial or mortal, depending on the situation, but “are called ‘capital’ because they engender other sins, other vices”.

In the Book of Proverbs 6:16-19, among the verses traditionally associated with King Solomon, it states that the Lord specifically regards “six things the Lord hateth, and seven that are an abomination unto Him”, namely:

  1. A proud look
  2. A lying tongue
  3. Hands that shed innocent blood
  4. A heart that devises wicked plots
  5. Feet that are swift to run into mischief
  6. A deceitful witness that uttereth lies
  7. Him that soweth discord among brethren
Enneagram path of sin

Enneagram path of sin

Another list, given this time by the Epistle to the Galatians (Galatians 5:19-21), includes more of the traditional seven sins, although the list is substantially longer: adultery, fornication, uncleanness, lasciviousness, idolatry, sorcery, hatred, variance, emulations, wrath, strife, seditions, heresies, envyings, murders, drunkenness, revellings, “and such like”. Since Saint Paul goes on to say that the persons who commit these sins “shall not inherit the Kingdom of God”, they are usually listed as (possible) mortal sins rather than capital vices.

The seven sins inspire a lot of fan art here represented by Gaia Online

Seven Deadly Singirls

Seven Deadly Singirls

Seven Heavenlies

Seven Heavenlies

Finally, the old TV show characters of Gilligan’s Island were supposedly based on the seven deadly sins.

Gilligan's Island Cast

Gilligan’s Island Cast

  1. Thurston B. Howell III is Greed.
  2. Eunice “Lovey” Howell is Sloth.
  3. Professor Roy Henkley is Pride.
  4. Ginger Grant is Lust.
  5. Captain Jonas Grumby is Anger.
  6. Mary Ann Summers is Envy.
  7. “Willy” Gilligan is Gluttony.
This entry was posted in Babbling, Sevens, Ultimate Blog Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Seven Sins – Seven Virtues

  1. What a fun post! Such a pleasure to stop by your blog today! And, who knew that about Gilligan’s Island! Wow. Keep Blogging!